The Delightful Way


Exciting Insights and Wonderful Times
April 22, 2006, 1:28 am
Filed under: Warrior

The past month has both been insanely busy and incredibly blessed.
I finished Fire Academy and we all passed the big test for my International
Firefighter I and II, Hazardous Materials Awareness and Hazardous Materials
Operations. With that load off our back we jumped into the exciting field of
Technical Rescue. So far we have done Intermediate High Angle and Confined
Space Rescue.
Intermediate High Angle significantly exceeded the Technician competency level
and included advanced training in rope rescue in all situations–building
collapse, cliffs, rocks, boulder fields, and slopes. The best part of this
class was our trip to Arkansas where we did many different actual scenarios
on real, big, rocky cliffs. We also got to do some exciting rock climbing on
routes ranging from 5.8 to 5.10! This class was extremely fun and useful.
Our Confined Space Rescue training places us between the Operations and
Technician levels for rescues in confined spaces (places with narrow
openings, many potential hazards, and not intended for normal use—tanks,
silos, hoppers, sewers, etc.). We learned about the many hazards and then did
some exciting practicals to round out this class.

While my training has been wonderful, it has been surpassed by the awesome
times I have had with my God. He has opened up the windows of heaven and
filled me with an enveloping joy and delight in His Awesomeness.
The Lord opened up a major door for me this summer through Col. Tanner, who
asked me to lead the QUEST program July 10-August 4. This very much fits in
with my life purpose and vision, and I am excited about the impact it will
have.
I asked the Lord for some specific guidance/promises for my summer, and He
gave me these:
“Do not lay up treasures for yourself on earth, where moth and rust corrupt
and thieves break in and steal, but lay up treasure for yourself in
heaven…for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Mat
6:19-21).
“Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness, and all these things
will be added unto you.” (Mat 6:33)
Also, 1 Timothy 2:1-7, which I don’t have memorized.
These were exciting!
My God is great! You should meet Him!

Corporal Samuel Kordik
International ALERT Academy
Big Sandy, TX

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

