The Delightful Way


Lessons of 2006
December 24, 2006, 8:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Recently, my sister and I had a few close friends over for dinner. Over the meal we discussed the lessons we had learned over the previous year. This was a very insightful and rewarding conversation; everyone had something to share with the group. (What a rare and delightful privelege to have such a group of friends!)
For my part, 2006 was a year of challenges, of incredible blessings and quite a number of lessons learned:
1. Meditation:

“Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers; but his delight is in the law of the LORD, and on his law he meditates day and night. He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.” (Psalm 1:1-3)
I have often been reminded of the importance of Scripture meditation, but never really had success in it until this year. As I grew closer to this ideal of meditation “day and night” I experienced unbelievable success. Incredible opportunities arose, my studies were smooth, my personal relationships improved, and I was closer to the goal of abiding in God’s presence.

2. Leadership:

2006 taught me a lot about leadership–a skill/art/talent that can only be learned as it is practiced. January through May saw me in my first real leadership role as Unit Leader for ESO at ALERT. There were some challenges, and I made some major mistakes. Fortunately, the guys I served were really great and helped me learn my role. Then, this summer, my leadership was stretched as I oversaw a staff of 11 leaders working with 83 young men during the Quest program. Again, there were many major challenges and I made many major mistakes. However, I also saw God work in an impressive way and experienced the power that can come from laying my burdens on Christ. This fall, I was challenged to be a leader while staying under authority. Without an actual position of leadership, I had to learn the importance of gaining respect for being who I am, not for being in my position.

3. Becoming a Man

This never-ending quest became clearer to me through the course of this year. I began to figure out what being a Biblical man looks like, I explored concepts like becoming a Warrior of God, and I began cataloging, sort of, my weaknesses and what I needed to focus on changing. This process is definitely a work in progress, and I would welcome any advice/counsel/etc. any one can offer on this.

Looking at these, I still have a lot of work to do, but I think it is useful to look back and see things learned. What has God been teaching you?


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey Sam!

I think it is great to discuss lessons we learn with others.

I learned all 3 of those things at Quest Meditation Leadership & Becoming a Man
and you really made a difference in my life.

Thanks,

-Jordan Greene
(From Quest)

Comment by Jordan G.

Hey, I totally agree with Jordan. And beleive me what ever mistakes were made on your part God sure cleaned them up because to date that was the most maturing experience of my life. Have a good one and thanks for giving me the new address.

Comment by R. Sinteff




Leave a comment