The Delightful Way


“To Know Him…”
April 24, 2007, 2:07 pm
Filed under: Spiritual Life

For me, ALERT Basic training was the most difficult, most intense thing I’ve ever done. As Elihu pointed out to Job (Job 33), God teaches men in two ways: Through revelation (Scripture) and through suffering. The suffering in the first two weeks of Basic brought me to a point of brokenness where I let go of my pride and surrendured to God, acknowledging and accepting my total dependence on Him. Shortly after this breakthrough, He gave me the Scripture that has defined much of my time here at ALERT.

Each Saturday, we had a detailed inspection and then were “thrashed” for failing (The standard of passing was extremely high, and things as small as having dust on top of the doors or having your socks folded the wrong way or having a speck of dirt on your boots would be cause for failing). These thrashings involved intense physical exercise to the point of muscle failure. This particular Saturday, I was standing “at ease” by my bunk awaiting the inevitable pain when I pulled out my pocket NT and started reading in Phillipians.

God spoke to me through Phillipians 3:10: “That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being made conformable unto His death.” This verse sustained me through that thrashing that afternoon and on through the rest of Basic.

Recently, God has challenged my relationship with God to go deeper–to go to a level of intimacy, of experience, of really knowing.

Alex & Brett Harris wrote a great article on this subject at The Rebelution. In it, they say:

“As Christians—as rebelutionaries—we must never be content with simply having a relationship with our Savior. Is it growing? Do we delight to talk to Him? Do we hunger to read His Word?…Do I value the promised gift of sweeter communion with my Savior? Then let me demonstrate it by seeking after Him with my whole heart, through constant prayer and meditation on His Word. It will be hard, but it will be good. And someday I’ll be able to say, without a moment’s hesitation, that I have known my God.”

Read the whole article at The Rebelution: To Say, I Have Known God

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

