The Delightful Way


Amazing Grace…
June 4, 2007, 8:14 am
Filed under: Spiritual Life

This morning, I stand amazed at God’s grace.

I woke to the glorious strains of “Were It Not For Grace” the title track of a wonderful CD by Tara and Nicole Riddell.

“Were it not for grace
I can tell you where Id be
Wandering down some pointless road to nowhere
With my salvation up to me
I know how that would go
The battles I would face
Forever running but losing this race
Were it not for grace.”

During my morning devotions, God was gracious and granted me rich insight into some personal struggles. Then I read a prayer, “The Mover”, in the book “The Valley of Vision”:

O Lord, I am astonished at the difference

   between my receivings and my deservings,

   between the state I am now in and my past

      gracelessness,

   between the heaven I am bound for and

      the hell I merit.

And later in the prayer:

Let wrath deserved be written on the door of hell,

But the free gift of grace on the gate of heaven.

Grant me to attain this haven and be done

   with sailing,

and may the gales of thy mercy blow me safely

   into harbour.

Let thy love draw me nearer to thyself,

   wean me from sin, mortify me to this world,

   and make me ready for my departure hence.

Secure me by thy grace as I sail across this

   Stormy sea.

Ah, the Puritans were so insightful.

Were it not for grace, I would be hell-bound, a miserable wretch receiving the just due of my sins. But, God be praised, thanks to grace I can look forward to a Rest I have no earthly right to, I can defeat Sin that was once my master, and I can live in victory through Christ.

All because of grace.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Now THAT one sounds like a nice song to wake up to. 😉

It was great talking to you last night, bro. I’ll definitely be keeping you in my prayers and looking forward to talking again soon.

Have a good one!
-Sam

Comment by Sam

thanks to grace…

I like it. =)

Later,
Jordan

Comment by Jordan G.

Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Comment by sandrar

Sign: asygn Hello!!! kwpcp and 3405vkfuenzyyu and 775 : Sorry, what did you mean?? A??

Comment by megan fox nude photos




Leave a Reply

